Garlic Monkey Bread

Yum!

 

I guess this is more of a pull apart bread, but whatever. I think monkey bread has to be “gooey” or something? 😛

I wanted something to go with spaghetti and meatballs, so I came up with this.

 

I used my regular ol pizza dough recipe, found here. If you read my blog regularly, you may notice that I use this recipe a lot. Everyone should have one basic recipe they use, and just customize it however they want. A yeast dough like this is always forgiving, and you can use your imagination!

 

Make your dough according to recipe, you can use mine or any pizza dough/focaccia recipe really. Oil and cover. Allow to rise for 30mins - 1hr. Depending on the patience and time you have.

 

Once dough has rested/risen, plop out onto a floured surface.

 

Divide dough. Now I'm not one for specific numbers or sizes, so use your judgement. You want a million tiny bites? Make a million tiny balls of dough. You are the controller of your dough-estiny.

 

I think I divided my dough into.... *math*...... 48 pieces.

 

Fill a bowl with good olive oil, add about 1-2 cloves of finely minced garlic, salt and pepper. Dried italian herbs would be great in here as well. Or even chili peppers! Remember, I'm the boss of nobody, so do what you want.

 

Roll each piece of dough into a ball. Doesn't have to be perfect.

 

Roll it in yo garlic stuff.

 

Place in oiled dish. I used a deep 8" round ceramic baker. But you can use a deep springform or a bundt pan, or again, anything really.

 

Done!!

 

 

Cover and allow to rise for another 30mins - 1hr. I think this was only 30 mins, low on time!!

Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes, until top is golden brown.

 

Eat it!!

 

I really liked this bread because of the varying textures. Crunchy parts, soft fluffy garlic oil infused parts, awesome for dipping into marinara sauce!

13 responses to “Garlic Monkey Bread

Leave a Reply

