Spicy Peanut Noodles with Chicken

It's just you and me noodles. (And Michael) But mostly you an' me.

 

You know I love spicy, asian-y, cilantro-y, peanut-y, whatever else-y can describe my tastes. This is a dish I’ve started to make much more often because it’s just so easy. And I have not just one, but TWO ways to make this! Golly! (there’s way more ways than two, I might have lied)

 

First and foremost, and most important-most, (this is the post where I make up some more words) we need to make a peanut sauce.

 

I generally don’t measure unless I’m baking, but I’ll try to throw together a recipe just for you.

 

You need:

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used skippy, is this against some sort of food rule? natural peanut butter just doesn’t cut it.)
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sambal oelek (garlic chili sauce)

Mix all ingredients in a small pot over medium heat until fully incorporated.

 

PLEASE TASTE THIS!  and be careful with the fish sauce/soy. If it becomes too salty add more coconut milk or some water.  Also if it tastes too “peanut butter sandwich-y”, add more chili sauce.

It should looka lika this.

 

Set aside!

Now for my variants!

 

If you wish to enjoy this immediately for dinner, lunch, breakfast, midnight snack, etc:

 

(What a weird order I thought of those meals in, dinner – lunch – breakfast? Meal-lexia? Anyway.)

 

Cook some chow mein or rice noodles, and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process. Set aside.

 

OR if you’re like me, cook it all at the same time and try not to overcook your noodles 🙂

 

This is where I lied. You can PREPARE this meal in two different ways, but as usual, you can put whatever you want in it.

 

This time I chose chicken breast, red and yellow peppers, cilantro and green onion. I would have killed (no not killed) for some bok choy, as it would be amazing in there, but it was 9pm and I don't drive. Broccoli would be great, carrot too, whatever you feel like! Sautee until everything is cooked. I pre-cooked my chicken in the oven much earlier in the day.

 

 

Add your peanut sauce! I added a bit of water to thin my sauce out just to stretch it a bit more.

 

 

Toss your noodles in the pan, let cook for only a few more minutes just to let some of the sauce absorb, and you're done!

 

 

Garnish with more cilantro, green onion, crushed peanuts and lime! Don't forget the TON of sriracha.

 

 

Okay! Part two.

 

What happens when you want to bring this to work? I’ve eaten the plastic container square shaped brick of noodles many times, they’re actually better cold than reheated. The microwave tends to overcook everything with the sauce in there. You get mushy noodles, separated or too thick sauce. Overall MEH.

 

So this is what I do!

Put some noodos in the bottom of your container, use extra noodles if you had this for dinner previously. But if not, it's even better to slightly undercook your noodles for this.

Top with cooked meat, thinly sliced vegetables (I've even done this with broccoli, they just need to be pinky sized bits), cilantro, green onion and peanuts. The lime too! You can leave them in there when you microwave your meal or take them out. The only thing that leaving them in does is make them jucier.

 

 

Peanut sauce in a bag or container. I like to use a bag because I can just plop it ontop of everything inside the tupperware and only have to carry one container. I don't drive, remember? Less carry = Less grumpy me!

 

 

Then! (I have to stop writing the way I speak) When you get to work, nuke the chicken/noodles/veggie mixture until hot. The veggies will be cooked by then, when done, mix in peanut sauce and enjoy!!

 

 

And watch everyone scowl at you when they eat their boring sandwiches!

13 responses to “Spicy Peanut Noodles with Chicken

Leave a Reply

