Peach Crumble Coffee Cake

This isn't a coffee flavoured cake, it's a cake you eat with coffee!

 

This is a type of cake my mother used to always make. Especially when we had fresh plums!  This works great with any kind of fruit, and the base is incredibly forgiving.

 

 

What you need:

2 cups all purpose flour

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp butter (I used oil, had no butter!)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla ext

1 pinch salt

1 1/2 – 2 cups fresh fruit (or jam! Or frozen!)

 

Equal parts:

Flour, butter, sugar.

For the amount of cake I made I used 1/8th of a cup measures, feel free to adjust yours accordingly!

 

Preheat oven to 350.

 

Mix all ingredients! I didn't realize I had sour cream until later on...

 

Like I said this recipe is incredibly forgiving. No sour cream? Don’t worry about it! Add a bit of water, apple sauce, plain yogurt. Whatever. One egg? Sure why not!

It'll be a very dense and sticky dough. Don't worry its supposed to be like that! At least it's dense and not you!

 

Press into a buttered and floured pan. I used a oiled and floured pan, due to my non-butter-blasphemy. This was an 8x10 or something? 9x9 pan works fine. If you have a larger pan you'll just have to cook the cake slightly less due to the dough being spread out thinner.

 

I had 4 very ripe (local!) peaches. Peeled and sliced. This is about 1 1/2 - 2 cups fruit. You just want enough to adequately cover the cake base. So if you have more or less no problems!

 

 

Lay out your fruit! You don't have to do it all pretty like I did, not sure what I was thinking as there's a crumble topping to cover this, but whatever. I do what I want! Feel free to sprinkle some sugar on your fruit if it's tart or you want sweeter cake.

 

 

Mix equal parts flour, sugar and butter. I, remember now, had no butter. So I had to use oil. If you too must use oil, you have to mix equal parts sugar and flour, to 1/2 part oil.

 

Crumble that on top and pop in your oven for about 45-55 minutes, depending on the thickness of your cake layer. Just check it with a tooth pick around the 45 minute mark, it's done when it comes out clean and the topping is slightly browned.

 

Ta daa! Beautiful!! When I was a child I used to pick off the little crisped bits of crumble topping. So good.

 

Enjoy!!

 

23 responses to “Peach Crumble Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

