Roast Beef in August

I'll show YOU who's crazy.

 

So I made a roast beef in the middle of summer. You might say blasphemous, but I say delicious!

We’re lucky because of this new place, I’m not limited with what I can cook depending on temperature. It’s always nice and cool down here ๐Ÿ™‚

Preheat oven to 425.

Place some aromatics in the bottom of a roasting dish. I used apple, potato, onion, carrot and I threw a bay leaf in there. I don't have a proper roasting pan, or a rack for mine. So the vegetables add flavour and keep the meat from boiling in it's own juices.

 

Mix 2 tbsp grainy mustard with 1 tbsp fresh rosemary, and 1 clove garlic. Salt and Pepper, this can be slightly saltier, because it's going over the whole roast.

 

This was a 2-3 lb roast. Coat with seasoning mixture and place in 425 oven for 15 minutes, after 15 minutes, cover roast loosely with foil, turn heat down to 325 and roast for an additional 45 minutes. Longer if you wish yours to be more well done. I cook mine until it reaches 125 inside.

 

Voila! Take out of oven, cover with foil and allow to rest for 15-20 minutes.'

 

That's enough time to make yorkshire pudding!

 

Yorkshire pudding:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup water (or milk)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
Preheat oven to 425, place 1 tsp of oil in each of 6 cups of a popover pan or muffin pan.
Place in oven while preheating.
Once oven is hot, and while wearing oven mits, open oven, and carefully pour batter in each cup.
Be careful! I find it helps to pull the rack of the oven out a bit.
Close door and bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown.

Make a bit of jus or gravy with the beef drippings and enjoy! I was chasing daylight by this point and michael was starving. So no amazing photos! Not to mention I made that cheesecake earlier in the day ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Have your roast and eat it too!
10 responses to “Roast Beef in August

Leave a Reply

