Chevre and Mushroom Zucchini Boats

Such a good last minute idea!

Today I’ve left the house 3 times, washed and folded 3 loads of laundry, done 2 loads of dishes, made burgers, potato salad, guacamole, these puppies and banana bread.

 

So in the interest of my sanity I wasn’t going to post this.

But since it was SO good, and I had some okay lighting, posted it is!

 

My mother keeps giving me zucchini. Not even zucchini from her garden or anything, just plain ‘ol grocery store zucchini. I think I mentioned that I really liked it once and now I’m dealing with zucchini overload.

 

The recipe!

You need:

  • 3-4 medium/small sized zucchini
  • 1 cup chevre! Feel free to sub cream cheese if you’re a weirdo.
  • 1 cup button mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp jalapeno, finely diced
  • 1-2 tbsp each of finely minced  fresh green onion/parsley (or whatever you feel like)
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Preheat the oven to 350.

Slice each zucchini in half, and hollow out the seeds with a spoon. Place on a baking sheet, drizzle with a bit of salt, pepper and oil. Place in oven for about 15 minutes, or until zucchini is tender, but not overcooked.

Take out of oven to let cool a bit and prepare cheese mixture.

Sautee mushrooms and jalapeno, until mushrooms have softened. In a medium bowl, add goat cheese, mushroom mixture, fresh herbs and salt and pepper. Mix and spoon into the zucchini boats.

Pop on your broiler, and broil until the goat cheese is melted.

 

Enjoy!! These would SO work on the grill as well.

I might have to go eat another one...

 

 

 

22 responses to “Chevre and Mushroom Zucchini Boats

Leave a Reply

