Linguine in Sun-dried Tomato Pesto with Chicken

Oh-hohoho-YES

 

Pasta night! This is super-stupid easy to make. We’ll call it SS Easy for short. I bet it’s also the name of some lewd yacht somewhere.

 

 

 

You need:

 

 

  • 1 cup of sun-dried tomatoes. In oil, or not. Mine were straight up dried.
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar (just because I wanted to)
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese (spell check forced me to capitalize them, they must be important!!)
  • 1/2 cup more or less, extra virgin olive oil – Use your good stuff! If you don’t have any “good stuff” go get some.
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • Some linguine, that I hope you’ll cook whilst making the pesto. Salted water please!

 

You’ll notice that I did not add any pine nuts, or nut at all. I, didn’t have them, so I don’t use them. Use if you wish.

 

 

I had sun-dried tomatoes sans oil. I wanted a less pastey petso, so I soaked them in a bit of boiling water for a min or two.

 

 

Tomato Hot tuuubb!

 

 

Into the food professor! processor! whatever!

 

 

PUT IT ALL IN THERE! Except for the oil. We're gonna drizzle that in whilst blending. I did not grate my cheese, as for some reason chopping was less effort.

 

 

I wanted to share that I've started using this instead of buying heads of garlic. It was a "buy it cause it's on sale" impulse buy, but man. It's so great. I'm garlic-ing everything up. I call it garlic toothpaste.

 

 

Blend on high speed and slowly drizzle oil in. You may have to stop and scrape the sides a few times. Add as much oil as you feel. You can even add a bit of water if you want to thin it without the calories. But that's you. Not me.

 

 

Put it in a bowl and take a picture of it.

 

 

Then quickly put some on a piece of jalapeno ciabatta Michael bought for dinner while he's not looking and eat it!! Then get back to making your pasta, you slacker!

 

Now, you can leave this vegetarian and just toss the pasta in the pesto, but I wanted some protein, so I fried up some ground chicken with some nomu poultry spice (google it, get it). Toss chicken and pesto with the pasta immediately after you strain it and serve!

 

 

This would also go really well with some baby bocconcini, chevre, on grilled chicken, fish, or even serve it straight on crostini.

 

I’d also like to share that I say “Pahs-tah”, and get made fun of at work. Apparently they say it “Paa-sta”. Screw you guys!

 

 

8 responses to “Linguine in Sun-dried Tomato Pesto with Chicken

Leave a Reply

