Beef Dip – Easy Peasy Au Jus Squeezy

So. delicious!

 

Now, beef dip is best If you’ve made a gorgeous medium rare roast, and have sliced it paper thin with a meat slicer. But I don’t have these privileges. (I did when I worked in catering, and oh man. It was AWESOMEE!)

 

But this way is awesome too, with a ton of flavour, and ready in like 30 mins tops.

 

This isn’t a traditional beef dip, but I can’t help but add more stuff to it.

 

You need:

 

  • 1 baguette or some hoagie rolls
  • 200-300 g of deli sliced roast beef (or some beef from a real life roast)
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup sliced anaheim pepper ( I love these.)
  • 1/2 cup sliced onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2-3 tbsp softened butter
  • 1 packet of au jus mix or some really nice beef stock (makes 2 cups), or the jus from a real life roast.

 

Begin by softening in the onions. You should always cook veggies (and anything really) in the order of whatever takes longest to cook. So we're going to go "onion, peppers and mushrooms".

 

 

Chop chop

 

 

Yum! Be sure to season this with a little salt and pepper, and set aside.

 

 

Make your Jus according to directions. If you have a roast you'd like to make and can use. You can season and use the jus (juice) from that, or you can even just use a nice beef stock.

 

 

Add the garlic to the butter and mix. I added a bit of oregano to this. Just because I can.

 

 

Baguette. A baguette makes about 3 dinner sized sandwiches. But you can make them smaller if you wish. Or bigger, but if so you crazy. Slice into 3 pieces and open them up horizontally.

 

 

Butter + Broil. AKA what I do during the summer months.

 

 

Yum!

 

 

Take a portion of beef, and dunk it in to the jus and drain it off. This just warms up the beef and moistens it. I had to use a slotted spoon to do this because my tongs have disappeared. Place the beef on the sandwich, along with the other toppings. Some provolone would be AWESOME with this, but alas I didna have. Serve with a little cup of jus for dipping.

 

 

If you're eating this much beef, please make a salad 😛 This is my "whatever I have in the fridge" salad.

Enjoy!! The best part of a baguette making 3 of these, is that there's 2 for us for dinner, and 1 for me for lunch 🙂

 

 

Also, and this is going to sound a little silly.

 

 

One of my pet peeves is how people use “au jus”.

 

 

In english it means “with juice”.

 

 

I think there was a Quiznos commercial ages ago where they advertised a sandwich “with au jus” which is just totally wrong and made me mad every time I saw it.  But I’m just being petty!

 

 

I also have issues with people saying “chai tea” because the word Chai means tea. But we’re not going there today. 😛

 

 

18 responses to “Beef Dip – Easy Peasy Au Jus Squeezy

Leave a Reply

