Blueberry Rhubarb Crumble with Walnut Crust

The best. EVER.

 

 

A while back my mother gave me a giant bag of rhubarb and a giant bag of blueberries, and it was taking up room in the freezer. I’ve been thinking for a while what I wanted to make with them. A coffee cake, maybe some muffins, but since it was so substantial, a crumble was best. I still have a ton of fruit left over, so I can experiment with something else later.

 

 

Adapted from: Blueberry Rhubarb Crisp with Pistachio Crust

 

 

I originally was going to use the pistachios, but when I looked at the $9 bag I scoffed at it, and decided to use the walnuts in my freezer. (by far the BEST crumble related decision I’ve ever made)

 

 

I’ve also added some extra vanilla and cinnamon, because you really can’t go wrong with either.

 

 

Blueberry Rhubarb Crumble with Walnut Crust:

 

 

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups rhubarb
  • 2 cups blueberries (about 11 ounces)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

For topping

  • 1/3 cup shelled walnuts
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

 

Preheat oven to 375°F. and butter a 2-quart shallow baking dish.

 

 

In a bowl stir together sugar and flour. Add rhubarb and blueberries to sugar mixture, tossing well, and spread mixture in baking dish.

 

 

Make topping:

 


In a bowl, mix together finely chopped walnuts, flour and sugars until mixture resembles coarse meal.

 

 

 

This was when I decided it needed some cinnamon.

 

 

 

Squeeze a handful of topping together and coarsely crumble in chunks over filling. Squeeze and evenly crumble remaining topping over filling in same manner.

 

 

 

 

Bake crisp in upper third of oven until filling is bubbling and topping is crisp and golden, about 50 minutes.

 

 

 

You ever pull something out of the oven and that sound of angels singing seems to play?

 

 

Yeah.

26 responses to “Blueberry Rhubarb Crumble with Walnut Crust

Leave a Reply

