Creamy Mushroom & Beef Shepherds Pie

Bubbley crispy gooood.

I decided to make an actual recipe I make, instead of my usual culinary improv. This is how I make sheperds pie. I’ve always hated the super dry hunk of ground beef, sparsely specked with frozen veggie cubes, topped with grainy potato goo. So this is how I’ve adapted.

 

 

 

 

You need:

 

 

  • 1 lb ish of ground beef, pref lean
  • 1/2 medium sized onion, finely chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped (or a few baby carrots chopped like I used)
  • 1 stalk celery, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • 1/2 of an Anaheim pepper chopped (this is a very mild chili pepper, you can use bell if you want)
  • 1 cup, roughly chopped mushrooms
  • 1/2 beef stock
  • 1 can condensed mushroom soup
  • salt + pepper to taste
  • 5 large russet potatoes, peeled

 

*boil potatoes in a large pot of salted water, mash to your liking. I just added some butter and milk. But you can add cream, cheese, fresh herbs, bacon, anything you like to this! Customization! – Set aside for later*

 

 

Begin by sauteing the ground beef, add the onion, garlic and carrot. Sautee for a few minutes.

 

 

 

 

Add mushrooms and anaheim pepper. Cook until mushroom has softened slightly.

 

 

 

 

I generally prefer beef stock for this, but my mother gave me some Polish mushroom stock I needed to use. Look at this dude! 1 cube plus 1/2 cup water, pour into mixture in pan and deglaze.

 

 

Add mushroom soup mix. If it seems a bit too thick, add an additional 1/2 a can full of water.

 

 

 

 

 

Place meat mixture in a casserole dish, and top with mashed potatoes. I piped mine on with a large star tip. The more surface area you have, the more chance of browned delicious bits! You can also achieve this with a fork. Note: Be careful when piping hot mashed potatoes, my haste and impatience lead to burny discomfort.

 

 

Bake in a 400 degree oven, uncovered for 15-20 minutes. You don't need to bake this that long, as the filling is pretty much cooked already. You can broil this at the end if you wish. I ALWAYS broil everything at the end. For flavour and aesthetics!

 

 

15 responses to “Creamy Mushroom & Beef Shepherds Pie

Leave a Reply

