Italian Sausage & Sundried Tomato Alfredo – Quick Pantry Pasta

So.. Hungry.

 

 

I’m lucky enough to have amazing parents willing to taxi around my 24 year old car-less body to and from the grocery store from time to time. So that’s where I was after work, unfortunately I hadn’t eaten dinner, so it was definitely difficult.

 
I find I don’t have problems with over purchasing, or purchasing what I don’t need in the grocery store when hungry. My only problem is a bit of attitude, and how I can’t stop thinking about how I need to eat some food.

 

 

So as soon as I got home I needed something filling and comforting.

 

 

 

 

We had some time to stop by my local(ish) butcher to get some meat. So much more affordable, and good for the community! Support the little guys!

 

 

 

Removed the casing, and sauteed with about 1/4 cup of onion and 1 garlic clove, minced.

 

 

1 large tomato, seeded and diced. This tomato was not long for this world.

 

 

One of two pantry options. Alfredo seemed more comforting than plaaaain old tomato sauce!

 

 

Add the sauce! Simmer. I'd like you to know I was also cooking the pasta while I made this sauce. Otherwise I would have been miiighty dissapointed when I finished cooking this.

 

And as my momma taught me, always put a bunch of fresh herbs in everything. This was parsey, because it's all I had. Basil would have been great too. It's great for flavour, but also for colour contrast. It adds some life to the dull orange.

 

 

And of course. Grocery store jalapeno bread. Maybe I impulse bought this. But my dad suggested it, so it's his fault!

 

yeeee!

 

 

This 100% reminded me of a dish my brother Thomas used to make. Not sure if he still does, haven’t really made pasta with him lately. But he’d take a jar of alfredo sauce, and add a can of diced tomatoes. It really did liven up the alfredo sauce, make it seem a bit lighter, and a bit.. I dunno.. zingier.

15 responses to “Italian Sausage & Sundried Tomato Alfredo – Quick Pantry Pasta

Leave a Reply

