Cinnamon Apple Pancakes

Happiness, is a warm pancake.

 

I’m very nostalgic about food. I think I’m just very nostalgic in general, but that’s another story.

 

One of the  fondest memories I have of food, is when my mother used to give me a dish of apples and cinnamon to snack on whenever she made apple pie.

 

No time for apple pie today, and with only one apple. Pancakes it was!

 

Pancakes are great because you can put anything in them. Anything and everything works.

 

Here’s my basic pancake recipe:

 

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp oil or melted butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar or honey
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Combine all dry ingredients and mix well. Add egg, milk, and mix until combined. Do not over mix.

 

You can either add your goodies in the pancakes now, or onto the pancakes as you’re cooking them.

 

For my apple cinnamon pancakes, I added it TO the batter.

 

I took 1 granny smith apple, and peeled it. Finely chopped and put it in a pan with a few tbsp of honey, and cinnamon. Added a little bit of water to start the cooking process, and cooked the apples until just soft. Try to avoid applesauce texture.

 

 

Mix into pancake batter! Try not to mix in piping hot apple though, as it will cook the eggs in the batter, and be gross.

 

 

 

Cook away! I find that pancakes with filling IN the batter can be finicky. Be patient with them. Sometimes the chunks in the batter can prevent the heat from properly permeating through the pancake and you can have undercooked pancake guts.

 

 

I love you, pancakes!

 

 

 

11 responses to “Cinnamon Apple Pancakes

Leave a Reply

