So you’re making a cheese platter.

Cheesy!

I love cheese platters. But again, I’m influenced by my European roots. I would rather have a cheese/meat platter for dinner, with fresh baked bread, oh man. Than any other regular dinner.

I used to make TONS of cheese platters when I worked for catering. So the more you make, the better you get I guess. This wasn’t one of my best, but I’d like to share a few tips. Maybe you can share some for me!

You generally want:

1 hard

1 soft

1 blue

Then whatever else for filler.

 

I usually have:

1 ball of chevre, rolled in something (herbs, crushed walnuts, etc)

1 soft cheese like brie or camembert

1 blue cheese

1 or 2 types of hard cheeses

Some fruit, grapes preferably. Or some dried fruit.

 

This can change depending on who you’re feeding. I wasn’t feeding very adventurous people, so I omitted the blue. If you’re friends are brave, there are MANY amazing types of cheese. Mix some strong and mild flavours. Make sure you get a little bit of everything.

For this platter, I had some chevre rolled in herbs, applewood smoked cheddar, mild gouda, german butter cheese, herbed brie, and some regular ol’ cheddar.

Had no fresh fruit to speak of, so I used some raisins to fill some empty space. When making any platter, you don’t want to have any holes in it. And you should try to give it as much height as possible. There’s a reason the cornucopia is so appealing!

I like to cut up the hard cheeses, and I prefer to cut them into cubes. I understand that eating cubes with crackers isn’t always appealing, but if everything is sliced thinly, you just end up with a big flat heavy pile of cheese. Which ends up looking more like sandwich ingredients. Cubes aren’t always the only way to go, as you can see I’ve also made triangles. In the past I’ve even used small cookie cutters to cut out other interesting shapes.

Experiment!

Arrange your cheeses in an interesting way. Try to alternate colours, textures and shapes. Make sure you take the shape of your platter into consideration as well.

Fruit and cheese platters are also great! I LOVED the irish stout cheese on the bottom right. Oh man.

In this one I used a few more soft cheeses. Remember it all depends on who you're feeding.

It’s also a great idea to label your cheeses. There are many people who are new to cheeses, and are willing to try. But it sometimes makes it easier if they know what they’re getting into. For this platter I made some comic book-like speech bubbles, and drew in a simple tattoo font.

I made it so the speech bubble points to the type of cheese.

You can also use little flags, or they also make great slate cheese boards you can write on with chalk.

 

 

7 responses to “So you’re making a cheese platter.

Leave a Reply

