Lamb Skewers with Balsamic Reduction

YUM!!

This was last night’s dinner. A lot of the time I like to make snack-y dinner plates. An assortment of appetizer type things we both can pick off of one large plate, instead of dirtying a bunch of plates. I think it’s the Polish.

So last night we had lamb skewers with a balsamic reduction, simple roast potatoes, and some leftover jalapeno focaccia. I LOVE making my own focaccia but we had a busy day of christmas shopping, and I didn’t have much time to work with.

 

I took some lamb loin I had in the fridge, and chopped it into cubes. Marinated in some balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, rosemary, oregano, salt and pepper. (I just now realized I forgot garlic last night, ADD GARLIC TO THIS!) I left it to marinade for about an hour, the skewered away!

I threw some baby potatoes in a 425 oven before skewering the meat. Quartered, salt, pepper and oil. Simple I tell you. I believe I was planning on making a potato salad, but didn’t have the ingredients.

 

Let the lamb hang out for a bit while you get together your reduction. About a cup of crappy balsamic vinegar (if you use the good stuff, or the REALLY good stuff you probably don't even need to reduce it), then add 1 tbsp white sugar or honey.

Reduce by half and set aside to cool. Try not to inhale the fumes/steam it gives off. You'll be coughing for a while.

ooooh loogit that. keep in mind that it will thicken as it cools, so remove it before it gets to this point. This is pretty well cooled.

SEAR!

FLIP! Sear all sides and remove. Don't overcook. Lamb is best medium rare.

Oh yeah! The potatoes!!

Place on a nice platter, drizzle with the balsamic reduction and top with freshly chopped mint.

Put the remaining reduction in a small dish, and add the rest of your dishes!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

