Heart Sugar Cookies!!

I don’t have any Christmas themed cookie cutters. I don’t think I have anything Christmas themed. Don’t get me wrong, I Celebrate and LOVE Christmas, I’ve just been broke. For a long while.

Cooookie!

So I decided to make sugar cookies with whatever cutters I have! (so far my collection entails hearts, a fish and an ice-cream cone-go figure.)

This was my first time using royal icing. I didn’t make it myself though, I’d rather get the technique down before I start messing with egg whites.

Sugar Cookie Recipe:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Whisk together flour and salt in a small bowl.

Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium-high until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes in a stand mixer or 6 minutes with a handheld. Beat in egg and vanilla. Reduce speed to low and add flour mixture, mixing until just combined.

Looks like this!

 

Form dough into 2 balls and flatten each into a 6-inch disk. Chill disks, wrapped in plastic wrap, until firm, at least 1 hour.

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F.

Roll out 1 disk of dough (keep remaining dough chilled) into an 8 1/2-inch round (1/4 inch thick) on a well-floured surface with a well-floured rolling pin. (If dough becomes too soft to roll out, rewrap in plastic and chill until firm.) Cut out as many cookies as possible from dough with cutters and transfer to 2 parchment lined large baking sheets, arranging cookies about 1/2 inch apart.

 

Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until edges are golden, 10 to 12 minutes, then transfer to racks to cool completely.

My cooled cookies. I don't like overcooked sugar cookies, so mine are only very slightly brown, but you can bake yours for more, or less!

 

Meanwhile, gather scraps and chill until dough is firm enough to reroll, 10 to 15 minutes. Make more cookies with remaining dough and scraps (reroll scraps only once) and bake on cooled baking sheets.

I didn’t wait for the dough to refrigerate. It was 8pm and I didn’t want to be making cookies allll night. It turned out quite fine.

For my icing I used a mix we sell at work. All you need to do is add water to your desired consistency and mix. No complaints at $2.99 either.

You need two different consistencies for icing cookies. A thicker one to create a border, and a thinner one to fill in the cookie. The easiest way is to make enough icing for all of your cookies, start with thicker, and add a bit of water once you're ready to fill the cookies.

First the outline. You'll want icing that's sort of, gel tooth paste consistency. Heh. Enough to hold it's shape, but not too tough that you can't pipe it out. Fill your pastry bag, and either use a very small tip, or just snip off tiny bit off a plastic bag. Try to go for pencil lead thickness. You can always cut it a bit more if it's not flowing right.

 

As steadily as possible pipe around the entire edge of the cookie. This takes practice I've learned. Your icing should pipe smoothly and not run off the edges of the cookie. Allow this to dry a few mins.

Once you've outlined your cookies, return to your huge bowl of icing and add water little by little until you have a runnier consistency. I can't really think of how to describe it. Kind of like slightly thicker paint. Then just flood the icing over the cookie, careful not to overflow that nice barrier you made. You can use the tip of the bag to gently push the icing to the edges, or a small offset knife.

Then just keep on icing until you're done!

I ran out of pink and asked Michael what colour he'd like. He said black. You can see my technique has improved!

2 responses to “Heart Sugar Cookies!!

Leave a Reply

