Peppermint Whoopie Pies (from a boxed mix, what can I say)

So, most of the christmas product has arrived at the Gourmet Warehouse. I thought it was difficult enough to resist buying half of everything in the store. But with the cute packaging, snow flakes, and all the red and green, I had to give in.

Chocolate? Peppermint? Icing?! Okay!

 

 

I’ve never made whoopie pies before, nor have I ever tried them. I don’t think we even have these in Canada, or at least not in Vancouver, but I have read a LOT about them. I think they’re the new “cupcake” in the blog world.

 

It’s basically just a cakey sandwich cookie. Soft chewy cookie/cake, with buttercream icing inside. Nothing wrong with that.

 

The recipe was super easy (another reason why I went with the boxed mix, I always forget to buy ingredients) One egg please!
Now.. the recipe called for Milk. And, again, I didn’t have any. Thankfully, because of this I’ve learned that 99% of the time it’s fine to substitute with water. Unless you’re making chocolate milk. ew.
3 tbsp of oil.
Mix until well combined, then allow the batter to rest as you preheat the oven to 375. I bet this resting does something extra fancy.
This is what it should look like.
Grease a cookie sheet (or line with parchment as I have. Parchment is your friend. For everything.) Place 1 tbsp sized dollops 2″ apart. I was very paranoid about these spreading so I didn’t try to squish any extra in there, and turns out I was right. These babies SPREAD.
The makeover is complete! See. Any closer and we’d have a cake.
Make yourself some buttercream icing, and sandwich away! Then roll these into peppermint chips!!! Delicious! They didn’t last long enough for a peppermint-y photo. But you get the idea.

Buttercream Icing:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 2 cups  icing sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp water or milk to thin to your liking

 

Combine all ingredients in a stand mixer, with a hand blender, or with elbow grease.

 

You now have buttercream icing! Feel free  to add any extracts/food colouring if you wish.

Leave a Reply

