Tomato Focaccia

yum!

I’m home sick from work today, so I’ll use this time to update my blog. I have a few piles of pictures/recipes to post that have been piling up.

A while back I made some tomato focaccia from the tomatoes I grew on my balcony! That plant grew loads of tomatoes, but I’ve been negligent in watering it as of late. I’m surprised it STILL has tomatoes on it.

I used this basic yeast dough recipe I use for EVERYTHING. Pizza, bread sticks, focaccia, etc. I’m not sure where I got the recipe, but it works and I always end up with a nice chewy moist dough. S’how I likes it.

You’ll need:

1 1/4 cup warm water

2 1/2 tsp yeast

1 tbsp sugar or honey

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp olive oil

2 – 2 1/2 cups flour

1 tbsp finely chopped rosemary from your porch garden

A big ol handful of tomatoes from your porch garden 😛

Store bought tomatoes and dried rosemary are FINE.

Dissolve the water, yeast and honey in a standing mixer bowl (or in an olde fashioned regular bowl). Add the flour, rosemary, salt and oil and begin mixing until it becomes a soft, bouncy dough. (Sometimes when I make this recipe it goes wonderfully, other times I have to add more flour. So don’t panic if it’s sticky, just add little by little until you’ve got a stiffer dough.)

Allow the dough to rise covered for about 30 minutes. More or less depending on the time you have. This is a very forgiving recipe.

Preheat yo oven to 400 degrees.

Once you’ve risen the dough, put in a well oiled baking vessel of your choice. This recipe perfectly fits in a 1/4 sheet pan. But if you have to use  a brownie pan/pie plate/muffin tin or want to make a free form loaf, feel free! I’ve used stranger things. Lightly (or heavily) oil the top of the dough and press in with your fingers all over. Think of it like docking a pastry dough, but thicker and mushier. You’re trying to make different textures and crevasses for oil/flavours to go. Press in the tomato halves all over the dough.

It looka likea this.

Sprinkle with a little kosher or sea salt if you feel like it and bake until golden brown.

Likea this!

Then slice and enjoy with a well aged balsamic and some good olive oil 🙂

We ate the WHOLE bread in one sitting.

One response to “Tomato Focaccia

Leave a Reply

