Japanese Glico Curry – the easy way out

Easy Peasy.

Glico curry is a Japanese curry. It’s super easy and I ALWAYS have a packet in my pantry. It takes no time to make and you get this wonderfully warm/thick comforting curry.

You can find this at most asian stores, or everywhere if you live in Vancouver.

๏ปฟFirst things first, I got some coconut rice cooking. Coconut rice is NOT Japanese, but eh. I love coconut rice and I eat what I want.

I also LOVE my rice cooker. But I honestly haven’t used one until the last year. I stood by my “rice isn’t hard to make, what’s wrong with you” argument. And it’s true, it isn’t. But it’s SOO much nicer to throw it in the rice cooker and let it deal with it.

To make coconut rice, just substitute some of the rice cooking liquid with coconut milk.

Now, onto the curry. This recipe is great for using up odds and ends in the fridge, or if you really don’t have much to work with.

I had some thinly sliced flank steak I had purchased from T&T and an assortment of veggies.

I took flank steak, zucchini, carrots, peppers, onion, potatoes, and began to sautee until slightly browned and the potato was almost cooked through. Create those flavour profiles people!

You then add two cups of water, and allow to simmer for about 20 minutes. If your veggies/meat are well cooked by now, feel free to simmer for less.

This is what Glico curry looks like. A big brick of delicious. This thickens the sauce as well. So if you wish for a thinner curry, add slightly less. I throw it all in, because I'm a glutton like that.

Add your curry chunks and stir to combine, allow to simmer further just until sauce thickens.


After shot! The makeover is complete!

By now your rice should have been done, if not you need to reevaluate your rice cooking procedures. Then you just serve and eat! Yum!! This never lasts long at home and we never have leftovers.

9 responses to “Japanese Glico Curry – the easy way out

Leave a Reply

