Crackers for the soup!

And with the soup I posted earlier, I made some heart shaped crackers.

Cheddar and Parm!

I’m so sweet, I know.

They’re actually short bread, but I made them much thinner and cooked them slightly longer, so I guess you can call it a cracker.

This is from an epicurious recipe I found out from a customer at work last Christmas. I actually made these aswell for one of the Christmas dinners I attended.

What you need:

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese (about 2 1/2 ounces)
  • 1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
  • 1/2 small garlic clove, minced
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix flour, 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, salt, garlic, and cayenne pepper in processor. Add butter and, using on/off turns, process until dough begins to come together. Gather dough into ball. Divide dough in half. Roll each half into 12-inch log, and cut each log into 1-inch pieces. Roll each piece into ball. Arrange dough balls on prepared baking sheet, spacing about 1 1/2 inches apart. Press each ball into 2-inch-diameter round. Sprinkle remaining 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese over.

Bake shortbread rounds until tops are dry and bottoms are golden brown, about 20 minutes.

I made a few changes to the recipe this time around:
  1. I used half cheddar and half parm for the cheese
  2. I added slightly more cayenne
  3. I added some dried oregano ( I add dried oregano to everything I can’t help it)
  4. I used salted butter, so I cut back slightly on the salt
  5. I rolled the dough out on a very well  floured board, and used 3 different sized cookie cutters!

I kept the baking instructions the same, as I was going for more of a cracker than a shortbread. And since I rolled them thinner than the recipe requires, they came out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

