Chicken Soup for Michael’s Cold

YUM!

Michael has a cold, so as always, I made him some chicken soup 🙂

I don’t have an exact recipe for soup, I just make it the way my mother taught me.

Sexy hottub!!

Take some chicken, I had two chicken carcasses in the freezer, and just barely cover it with water.

Then add some aeromatics:

  • onion
  • carrot
  • parsnip
  • leek
  • celery
  • garlic

Throw in some whole black pepper,  a bay leaf and whatever dry spices you feel like.

Then simmer for about an hour.

Then once the chicken is fully cooked and you have a deep yellow broth, strain the mixture and put the broth back in the pot. Begin taking the meat off the bones and dicing your vegetables, and put that back into the broth. Chop up some fresh herbs, like parsley, green onion or even dill and add that aswell. <– this makes a WORLD of difference.

Season to taste and serve with teeny noodles or rice!

Pretty straightforward, but there are a few “rules” I’ve always stuck by.

  1. I always take the onion and put it directly on top of the stove element, before I add it to the pot. It burns the onion, but it adds a really great flavour to the soup.
  2. I never let the stock boil heavily. It’ll make the stock cloudy.
  3. I like to cook the stock with large vegetables, and cut them up once the soup is finished. I find the vegetables will fall apart if they’re small from the beginning, and I like to have  a nice clear stock with pretty little vegetables in it.
  4. I always cook the rice or noodles separately and add the stock to the serving bowl. This is to avoid sogginess.


Leave a Reply

