Pretzel Bites!

Lee

I’m a big fan of snacks over meals. So for some dinners we have a platter full of numerous snacky type foods, and just nosh, talk, and maybe take in a movie. I like it better sometimes over a big heavy meal, plus it generally takes much less time, and I’m usually pressed for time.

So tonight, both of us with hangovers, it was a perfect night for appys. I made wings, with a classic buffalo wing sauce. Fruit, and pretzel bites!

I was originally planning on making actual pretzels, but my laziness and impatience got to me, and I went with “bites”.

It's poppin'

I took this recipe from one of my favourite books: A Passion for Baking. This book is so well used, it actually fell apart. And this recipe was on one of those pages.

When making soft pretzels, after they’ve risen you boil them in water with baking soda to give the dough that chewy texture and shiny crust. It also helps them brown nicely.

Recipe is as follows:

Dough

1 cup warm water

1 3/4 tsp rapid-rise yeast

1/2 tsp sugar

3 tbsp sugar

1 tsp malt powder (I didn’t have this on hand, and the recipe states it’s fine to be omitted. Although, my work DOES sell it. 😉 )

3 tbsp vegetable oil

2 1/2 to 3 cups bread flour

Wisk water and yeast together and let stand 2-3 mins to dissolve yeast. Briskly whisk in salt, sugar, malt, oil and most of flour. Using dough hook, knead on lowest speed for 8-10 mins. Adding more flour if necessary to make a stiff dough.

Remove dough hook, and spray dough with cooking spray, or drizzle a little bit of oil on top and let rise 40 minutes.

Now this is where I changed the recipe. From here, you can divide the dough into 8 and form into pretzels, but I just rolled mine into 1 heaping tbsp-ish sized balls.

Allow to rise 20-25 mins, or however long you can wait 😉 I believe I waited about 10.

Preheat oven to 425.

Kettle water:

about 6 quarts of water

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

Bring water to a boil and stir in baking soda, salt and sugar. Drop in pretzels, a few at a time, for about 30 seconds. You’ll notice them puff up a bit. Using a slotted spoon, transfer them to a baking sheet lined with parchment.

Sprinkle with whichever toppings you’d like, I just used coarse salt.

Bake until browned, for about 15 minutes.

Cool a bit on the baking sheet, and eat right away with your favourite dipping sauce! Mustard is traditional, but I also made a cayenne-garlic mayo 🙂

I didn’t change much of the recipe. Although I was a bit impatient with the second rising, it didn’t make much of a difference. And despite the recipe not calling for it, I also brushed the pretzels with an egg wash before sprinkling them with the coarse salt, to help them brown even more.

Easy Peasy

Leave a Reply

