Chili and Cornbread!

It's chilly, so have some chili

Lee

Good ‘ol chili. One of my favourite comforting foods that doesn’t make you feel like a disgusting blob.

For chili I generally follow the same idea, I don’t have a specific recipe or anything.

1 lb of meat, 1 can of tomatoes. 1 can beans, onion, carrot, celery, and whatever else veggies you feel like throwing in.  Then some chili powder and dried herbs, but in desperation I’ve also used some taco or fajita mix (just not the whole package). The flavour that stands out most in chili is cumin. So as long as whatever mix you have or are making has some, your chili will turn out fine.

But my star of the show tonight was the cornbread 🙂

And no, I did not make my own cornbread. I used a mix we carry at our work that I quite like, and is SUPER easy to make.

Gufffaaawww

Buckeye cornbread! Just add eggs, milk and oil. (I of course forgot the oil, but it still turned out fine!)

I always seem to add something to anything I’m making. I can never really leave a recipe as is. So to this cornbread I added 1/2 of a jalapeno diced, some diced pancetta, some applewood smoked cheddar, and some green onion. Man was it good. I didn’t make it to dinner, as I was starving and scarfed down some granola bars as I was cooking. But when I attempted to eat dinner, I went straight for the cornbread and ate most of it.

Little specs of happiness!

3 responses to “Chili and Cornbread!

Leave a Reply

