I am a Champion of Improvisation – Pork Sausage and Tomato Alfredo Linguinie

You may not be aware but Michael and I are in the middle of moving. Or in the middle of about to be moved?

Regardless, we’re packed, waiting to leave and are quite lacking in the ingredients for dinner area.

So tonight I had a look in the pantry/fridge and came up with a Pork Sausage and Fresh Tomato Alfredo Linguine. I also made some garlic bread out of some 3 day old french bread.

You can't believe how happy my belly was.

I’d like to first start with the garlic bread as it’s easy, especially regarding what I was lacking.

What you need:

1/2 loaf of french bread (I had a little over half, and it was stale as hell)

1/4 cup  butter or margarine

1 medium clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp herbs

Preheat the oven to 350. Take the french bread and slice it all the way through horizontally, and set it aside. Combine the butter, garlic and herbs and mix well. I used a bit of italian blend but if I have the ingredients I like to include some fresh basil/parsley in my garlic butter, and also some Parmesan cheese if I have it on hand. Slather the butter across both sides of bread and place them back together. Wrap with tin foil and  bake in oven for about 15 minutes. I then like to open the bread and broil it butter side up until its just browned around the edges.

Of course, I didn’t have ANY tin foil on hand, so I placed the bread in a baking dish and topped it off with a sheet pan.  What you basically want to do is keep any moisture in, either via tin foil or my Macgyver method. This way the bread will gain back some of the moisture lost and be delicious again!

Now for the pasta, this was made just from whatever I had in the kitchen.

You’ll need:

4-5 breakfast sausages

1/4 cup or less diced onion

1 clove garlic, minced

1 medium tomato, diced, seeds removed

1 jar/can alfredo sauce (I used Classico)

salt and pepper to taste

Remove the casings from the sausages and brown them for a minute or two in the pan, then add the onions and garlic and cook until softened. Add the diced tomatoes and cook until just warmed through.

It looka likea this.

Add 1 jar alfredo sauce and mix to combine, let this simmer for a minute or two, but it really doesn’t need to cook any further. I prefer to have the tomatoes fresh in the sauce, as it livens it up a bit. With the rich alfredo sauce, caramelized sausage and onion; the tomato brings a bit of brightness. You could even forgo the tomato and add some lemon zest instead.

Add to linguine or any pasta you feel like! Enjoy!

Comfort at its finest.

One response to “I am a Champion of Improvisation – Pork Sausage and Tomato Alfredo Linguinie

Leave a Reply

