MSG for me! But mostly a little rant-y.

So we went for Chinese food for lunch down at “The Hub” at SFU.  Which is basically a few crappy restaurants that are never open when you want them to be and you’re forced to eat there as there’s nowhere else to go.

After we waited in the post office forever to mail something ;), we headed a few doors down and grabbed some lunch. I had the basics, sweet and sour pork, beef and broccoli and chow mein. Now it was fine Chinese food, I always prefer the MSG laden, neon coloured slimy coated Chinese food. As I’ve noticed the healthier versions just never seem to taste right. They’re always lacking flavour and texture. And if you’re going to eat Chinese food, it might as well taste like Chinese food, instead of similar to something you’d make at home.

Regardless, the only problem I had, and have always had, is with the vegetables.

Blech

More specifically onion and bell peppers. I love all food, and eat everything, but I absolutely cannot stand ginormous chunks of uncooked onion or bell pepper. Now, I understand that traditionally they cut the vegetables large so they’re easier to pick up and eat with chopsticks, but I still don’t understand why they have to be raw. Nothing puts me off more than a mouthful of onion juice. I also find it too much of a textural contrast. The crisp and crunchy pungent vegetables are the exact opposite of the sweet and tender pork meat.

Nooo thank you.

Mmmm, they also sell "Canadian Fast Rood"

Leave a Reply

