Dinner alone means Tuna Time!

Michael’s working late tonight, so it’s just dinner for me. He doesn’t really like tuna steak, so I pulled one out of the freezer for myself and decided to have it for dinner 🙂

I also decided to try out two new things I’ve had in my pantry for a while. This wild rice mix from work

Look at all that healthy!

and also the Tom Douglas Rub with Love – Spicy Tokyo Rub.

To prepare the rice, you have to first soak it in water for 15 minutes, THEN cook it 3:1 (water to rice) for about 35 minutes. My rice took about 45 mins, as our gas stove can be kinda funky.

I added a packet of this awesome broth my work sells, just for good measure and some added flavour. It’s concentrated liquid stock that comes in a little packet, has a very homemade flavour. Way better than that neon yellow powder bouillon.When the rice was almost done, or about half-ish done I put some veggies on to steam. Then, once those were both done it was time to sear the tuna!

Now, I’ve never REALLY been a fan of seared tuna steak. I can eat spicy tuna sushi rolls like they’re going outta style, but tuna steak has never impressed me. Lately I’ve been trying to eat healthier, and well, I don’t think I can go wrong with tuna.

This spice rub kind of excited me as I love anything spicy, and since I love spicy tuna rolls, I thought I might enjoy it more than the other ways I’ve prepared tuna steak. It has sesame seeds, chilis, lemon, coriander, ginger, paprika and seaweed.

Tell me this isn't gorgeous.

So I dunked my tuna steak into the rub and heated up my fry pan. Seared for about 4 mins per side, and was ready to eat!

And man. Was it DELICIOUS!!! I have never in my life enjoyed tuna so much.  This stuff is awesome, I can’t wait to eat tuna again.

Leave a Reply

