Lunch, Snacks and Canneloni.

After work I stopped by this Asian supermarket and picked up a few things. New bamboo steamer, nori and some miso soup mix. I left with a fried pork bun, a dried pork bun and some cute honey cake!!

The fried pork bun, as always, was very enjoyable. Pork, mushrooms and I believe some cabbage.. it tastes fairly similar to a gyoza dumpling if you’ve ever had one.mmmm.

The honey cake was very nice, I haven’t had this type yet. The packaging was kind of scary along with the “stay fresh packet” you usually find alongside a new pair of shoes. But the bear was adorable, it was moist, and it had a very nice honey taste.

This was gross. It was called a “dried pork bun” and well… everything was dry. I tried microwaving it to soften it but it didn’t do much. This was all I ate of this.

For dinner I made Cannelloni stuffed with ricotta and spinach.

I drained some frozen spinach and chopped it finely. Combined it with a small tub of ricotta, and added some grated Parmesan cheese, salt, pepper and a little water to thin it out into piping consistency. I then put it into a zip loc bag, cut off a corner, and piped the filling in some ready to bake cannelloni tubes.

For the tomato sauce, I caramelized some onion and 1 clove of minced garlic.

Added in one can of crushed tomato, 1 tbsp or so of honey and an equal amount of balsamic vinegar.

Salt and pepper to taste, then remove from heat.

I then submerged the pasta in the sauce, and covered with more grated parmesan cheese and crumbled goat cheese. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes, remove cover and bake for 15 more.

Et voila!

Leave a Reply

