Roasted Chicken!

I made roast chicken last night. It turned out very well and I couldn’t resist tearing off the wings and eating them before taking the picture.

I put the chicken in a brine for a few hours that also had some fresh thyme, garlic and a bay leaf.

Before baking I dried off the chicken and topped with salt, pepper, paprika and more thyme, squeezed a lemon inside and stuffed the lemon pieces and a piece of onion inside.

I then dry roasted for about 1.5 hours at 350. This was about a 1.4kg bird.

I served this with garlic mashed redskin potatoes with skin on and steamed carrots. I also made a quick sauce out of the drippings, but I made the mistake of squeezing the lemon from the bird cavity into it and it was very lemony. I added some honey to cut the acidity, but that didn’t save it much.(So I just used a little bit :P)

Leave a Reply

