Frankensoup (Chorizo/ Mushroom)

IT'S ALLLLIVEEE!

 

We’ve been trying to eat healthier, so I’ve decided to try and make soup more often. (sans cream, or cheese, or anything like that)

 

Pay day isn’t until this Friday, so my meals have been slightly lack-luster, and much less planned.

 

We were starving when we got home, I dug through the fridge/cupboard and came up with this.

 

I didn't actually use the cauliflower, but it meant well.

 

 

Mirepoix. Onion, celery, carrot. Some garlic too! Sauteed for a minute or two.

About half a chorizo sausage, diced.

 

 

1 medium potato, diced. I really love potato in soup. It thickens it a bit, and adds really nice body.

 

 

1/4 of an orange bell pepper, and maybe 5 grody mushrooms that were a bit dried out in the fridge. Waste not want not! Sautee for a bit, until the potato is cooked a bit.

 

 

Another one of these. Add to 1 cup of water, and add to vegetables.

 

 

Easy way to make good soup fast. I added this plus 4 cups of water. The recipe asks for 3 cups water 1 cup milk, but I didna wanna do that.

 

 

Bring to a boil, and turn the heat down to simmer for about 15 mins.

 

 

Michael complained, again, that he wanted a filling soup so I've used a larger pasta. I LOVE garofalo brand. We sell a ton of way better quality pasta, but I always prefer this. I like the shapes, the bag size is perfect, and I like the texture of the noodles. I threw in about 1/3 cup of mafalda corta. Or what I like to call "Itty Bitty Lasagna Noodles" let this cook for 7-10 mins, or until the pasta is cooked.

 

 

Done! And, as always, throw in a handfull of fresh herbs! I added green onion and parsley. Eat!

 

 

Serve with some toast or fresh baked bread!

11 responses to “Frankensoup (Chorizo/ Mushroom)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

